Strategy ’08

Obama vs. the other guy, 2008

My Alma Mater Rejected Obama

Apparently it’s true: Swarthmore College, my alma mater, rejected Obama:

The admissions office may have to keep mum, but senior Joel Mittleman ’09 actually had the chance to personally confirm the rumor when Obama held an open town hall at Strath Haven High School during the Pennsylvania primaries. “I did ask Obama [whether it was true],” he says, “not during the actual question and answer, but as he was walking the line shaking hands afterwards.” Mittleman recalls the Senator laughing in response, asking him where he heard the information, and then saying “Yes, it’s true. It really broke my heart, actually.”

Alum Anne Kolker ’08, a former intern in the Senate office and Mittleman’s original source of the rumor, further confirmed the story: “Yes, the first thing President-elect Obama said to me was “Ah, Swarthmore, great school. They rejected me.” Thankfully, Kolker reports Obama held no grudge against her. Here’s hoping admissions doesn’t write off any other presidential hopefuls.

Too bad, would have made our reunion weekends more interesting.

November 17, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

6 Comments »

  1. It would have made reunions more interesting, but I was quite pleased to learn that I got in that year (1979) and he didn’t. Granted, he has gone on to be elected Preisdent of the U.S., but I at least have bragging rights.

    Regards,

    Ben Langhinrichs Class of ’84
    (accepted class of ’83 but deferred for AFS)

    Comment by Ben Langhinrichs | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. Typically I don’t read write-up on blogs, but I’d like to say that this write-up extremely pressured me to try and do so! Your composing style is shocked me. Many thanks, very nice post!

    Comment by twelve south bookbook case | January 5, 2012 | Reply

  3. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any
    problems of plagorism

    or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of completely unique content

    I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up

    all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    Comment by Kathy | April 19, 2013 | Reply

  4. I’m really inspired along with your writing talents and also with the structure for your

    blog. Is that this a paid theme or did you modify it

    your self? Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it is

    uncommon to see a nice weblog like this one today..

    Comment by www.e-catworld.com | April 25, 2013 | Reply

  5. I am extremely inspired together with your writing

    abilities as smartly as with the format to your

    weblog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it

    your self? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it’s

    uncommon to see a great blog like this one today..

    Comment by Thirdeyereels.com | April 27, 2013 | Reply

  6. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You

    have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take

    some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for your blog in

    exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested.
    Thanks!

    Comment by saudi news | May 10, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

