Strategy ’08

Obama vs. the other guy, 2008

I Made a Commitment to Barack Obama

…and so should you. I just signed up to be part of his Grassroots Finance Committee, pledging to raise at least $1,000 for Obama’s campaign this fall. I signed up after receiving this note in the mail from his campaign:

Join the Grassroots Finance Committee (GFC), a core group of dedicated supporters who are setting a personal goal to raise $1,000 each in small-dollar donations.

Barack is relying on ordinary people giving only what they can afford to support this movement. Join the GFC and reach out to your network of friends, family, and neighbors and encourage them to make a donation and own a piece of this campaign.

I immediately knew it was something I had to do. But I decided to make the job a tiniest bit tougher myself, and set another condition on how I raise this money, and I hope you join me in this pledge:

I pledge to raise money only from those who are NOT bloggers or even those who read political blogs. I am only going to raise the money from family and friends who are aware and engaged, but not at the level I am or that you are.

That way I promise you I won’t be linking to any fundraising pages from my postings here, or any other way that will raise visibility of my fundraising efforts amongst those who would likely be donating money anyway.

No – my task is to reach out to those who may not give otherwise. Obama will win not just by expanding the electorate, but by expanding fundraising efforts to new people, those who may not be used to giving to political campaigns. And in doing so, we will be engaging those people on a whole new level in the political process.

So, today I signed up to be part of his Grassroots Finance Committee and raise at least $1,000 in small donations, but additionally I make the personal commitment to do so by tapping into unlikely sources of funds and engage other friends and family and associates in this great campaign.

Will you sign up today and make the same pledge?

August 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. I am on that committee and have raised since, August 2007 over 10K. Yes, we all should be raising the funds, he will need it sooner than later.

    Comment by icebergslim | August 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

