Strategy ’08

Obama vs. the other guy, 2008

My Questions About The Response To The Ayers Ad And The Clinton Ad

I’ve been wondering as to the lack of a response ad to the Ayers ad, which has been running in battleground states all week. Does the Obama team think that the DNC coverage trumps any sort of response to the Ayers ad? Are they back in the position where they were in thinking that a response to the “Celebrity” ads would be silly? 

The only response I’ve seen has come from Obama Action Wire, where they tell us to call television stations and request them to stop running the ad. Is that e-mail alone sufficiently enough? 

And as for the Clinton ad, I’ve been kind of surprised there hasn’t been a quick response to it, other than Clinton’s spokeswoman. Are they planning to have Hillary Clinton attack John McCain with full-throated rage during the DNC? I don’t think she’s going to attack McCain during her DNC speech to the extent she did Obama. She treated Obama like he was her general opponent, and I wonder whether she can let go of that, and use her convention speech (not only to praise her historic-making campaign and her delegates) to go after John McCain. 

What do you guys think?

August 25, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Given what her surrogates are saying (see above), I am dubious if she’ll do anything at all aside from a pedestrian endorsement. I’d love to be proven wrong though.

    Comment by turneresq | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’ve been doing a slow-inward boil too just knowing that these LATESTattack ads that you mention are going seemingly completely

    Comment by Midwesterners | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. Sorry: Somehow my unfinished response got sent above. I meant to say that I too have been feeling very anxious this weekend just knowing that these latest attack ads by the McCain Campaign are going unanswered ONCE AGAIN by Obama’s Campaign.

    While I agree that the news of Biden’s selection for VP was very positive, it certainly didn’t take the McCain Team more than a nano-second to try to “neutralize” this news with yet another round of attacks. I am getting extremely frustrated that Axelrod and Company are letting the Dems “play dead” over and over again–not just since 2004, but since July 2008. I do not think they realize that the playing field they are working against today is no longer just Chicago or the State of Illinois, but the entire country–which is a completely different can of worms in terms of demographics.

    Comment by Midwesterners | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. I actually don’t think these warrant a response at the moment. You know me, I am as much a handwringer as anyone, but I’m not worried about these ads. They’re pretty weak in my opinion, and we’re about to have the Democratic convention. Clinton does indeed have to go after McCain in a big way as a response, but otherwise, these ads aren’t particularly worrisome to me.

    Comment by dansac | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  5. Yes, Dansac. I hope you are right–after all we are ONLY talking about just one weekend in the entire election cycle. Furthermore, as both you and Slink have said, Clinton MUST go after McCain in a big way–both during “her” upcoming night at the Convention and afterwards. (And of course I really am referring to BOTH Clintons.)

    I am so grateful to all of you here at Strategy 08 for your selfless articles and postings. I certainly recognize (and share) your URGENT passion for the Democrats to win!! For me personally, one of the main reasons that I have become SO frustrated this election cycle is that I know there have been SO many fantastic and catchy “ads” and “scripts” put out by just “ordinary” people on YouTube and the Internet for Senator Obama–such as those offered by Slink to give an example, along with all those hilarious and witty 30-second “commercials.” What is more astounding is that these people are putting forth some of the best creative efforts I have ever seen for absolutely no money!! Just knowing this, I get so exasperated watching the lame and usually boring-at-best commercials that the Official Obama Campaign is producing–especially when we know that Obama is paying enormous sums of money for these mediocre efforts. I hope more than anything that the Obama Ground Team really IS able to deliver the vote on November 4th–after months of McCain’s Mass Media Blitz.

    Comment by Midwesterners | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hey, thanks for the link! I’d love to get more questions for the “Ask Charlie Anything” list.

    Comment by chasrmartin | August 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

