Strategy ’08

Obama vs. the other guy, 2008

The Best Speech You Didn’t Hear: John Kerry

Last night was far and away the best night of the convention, with some gloves finally being laid on John McCain (for all the complaining – some of it legit – compare the 2008 convention to 2004, MUCH tougher on the opponent). But in the purest political sense, I think the best speech of the night was given by…wait for it…John Kerry?!?

Yup, Kerry was concise and devastating, and particularly on matters of national security. That’s the good news.

The bad news? Except for PBS and C-SPAN, NOT ONE NETWORK COVERED THIS SPEECH! And then their pundits have the gall to tell us that no one attacked McCain. If this blog, and others like it, can serve any favorable purpose, it would be to spread this video far and wide. I strongly encourage you to share it with your friends:

August 28, 2008 - Posted by | Media Strategy, Uncategorized | , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I cannot even believe that they wouldn’t choose to run Kerry’s speech – he was the nominnee last year! The “swift voting” term came because of that campaign, and it could’ve fit into an interesting story.

    The reality is that it’s all about money and trying to make pundits stars. It’s not only time to reject the politics of the past, it’s time to reject the MSM! I’m totally surprised that MSNBC didn’t even cover this.

    It was a pointed speech that should’ve been covered.

    Comment by Suzie Q | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. I heard this in my car on NPR and had to pull over to applaud at the end. I could hardly believe it was Kerry.

    GREAT speech!

    Comment by 365words | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. It was the best speech of the nite! You need to watch c-span.Forget the other stations

    Comment by Gil | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  4. Terrific!! I only wish he had spoken with such passion and eloquence 4 years ago, maybe we wouldn’t be in such a mess if he had.

    Comment by Valerie | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. CNN ran it too!

    Comment by sbanks | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hey sbanks,
    I believe CNN streamed it live while Wolf Blitzer et al were busy boring us with the Clinton v Obama controversy for what seemed like all day long. I too switched over to C-Span and enjoyed their continuous coverage; one homerun after another!

    Comment by Steve | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. I believe that it was MSNBC that was actually playing music over this speech when I saw it and I switched to CNN so I could hear it! I couldn’t believe that the 2004 nominee could be ignored like this. I was stunned and moved by this speech. Maybe if Kerry had spoken more like this in 2004, he would’ve been president right now.

    Comment by Andrew | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  8. PBS is doing a good job of covering the convention in my opinion. John Kerry’s speech was marvelous; you could feel his anger and disgust with the Bush administration and the Republican tactics. He opened up and let his emotions run, more vibrant than I’ve ever seen him.

    Comment by David Mac | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  9. Yeah, CNN ran it, but they were busy talking over the first half or more of his speach.

    Comment by Jupo | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  10. Don’t know about you, but I’ve heard enough from the media to last me through FIVE more presidential elections! It’s the same rehashing over and over again about Obama.
    I didn’t have an opportunity to be their live in Denver and relied on the media to take me through it—-CSpan made that happen for me. CNN and FOX News continually ridicule everything there is about Obama. Even the Clinton surrogates throw in their ‘spin’—like we haven’t heard it time and time again.
    I watched MSNBC after the live airing of the convention to watch the speeches over again. I have never been a fan of Pres Clinton’s but I couldn’t get enough of listening to him speak. A big thumbs up to both the Clinton’s for taking a big gulp and giving their full support to Obama. I won’t forget it.

    Comment by WeR1 | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  11. John Kerry – you are no better than Obama.

    Obama,

    You are the first candidate the U.S. has had in a long time that has continued to spread false information from the first time you hit the campaign trail.

    I find your technique one of the most offensive I have ever experienced. I find your ethics are on the border of being unethical and your manipulation of the facts most disgusting.

    It is common knowledge that the media will always press United States citizens to vote for the candidate who offers them the biggest kick-backs, pay-backs, and over-all “favors”. That is you, Obama.

    Then look at your over all personas: Your stance, the way you hold your head, your gestures, the clothes you wear, the pronouns and adjectives you use. Everything about you is the personification of an individual, who does NOT, let me repeat DOES NOT, have the United States citizens interests’ at heart. You are an elitist and the persona I just described is living proof — your entire appearance is proof — FACT — of what I say.

    Okay – now let’s talk about education. You have a law degree but did not practice law. Why? Readers – look this one up and you will see why. And, the result is not a positive one.

    Then there is the community organizer work you undertook in the state of Illinois. That, too, has been overstated and turned into something “positive” that it in fact was NOT. Dear readers – check this one out yourself as there are many Illinois citizens who will tell you the “truth.”

    My education – NOBAMA – is equal to or greater than your education. I do have the same ability as you to influence U.S. Citizens: And I certainly am taking the opportunity to exploit you for what you truly are.

    You see I am an educator, who works for a famous “Research One” institution, who has the ability to write Journal Articles that all college students will use for research. The true facts about you will come out and in a place that will most definitely do the most good – to influence voters “young voters” on how to spot an individual who does not represent the United States in the capacity as he states he will. Make no mistake, Obama, people will definitely know the subject of the Journal Articles is referencing you and your 2008 Presidential campaign.

    See you in “honest” fact-finding print.

    Comment by Versailles | October 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

