Strategy ’08

Obama vs. the other guy, 2008

A Slightly Different Take Than Slinkerwink’s

Slinkerwink is mad as hell, and I understand where she’s coming from. Obama’s media strategy just isn’t as sharp as it should be, and it’s frustrating. I think we’re all ready for them to come up with something dramatic to shift the national conversation (I keep saying: I hope the Obama camp is pushing Powell for an endorsement, it would be HUGE news). Additionally, diaries that say SYFPH aren’t helpful. But ultimately this is an inside-the-blogosphere issue.

I frankly don’t know what to do anymore to influence the national narrative as a blogger, so I am refraining more from venting those frustrations. It’s not that I don’t have them, it’s just that there isn’t anything I can do. It’s 60-days now, it is what it is.

But I will say this: I am extremely nervous, yet hopeful. The fundamentals of this race absolutely still favor Obama. Win the Kerry states, add IA, NM (both will go blue) and CO (tighter), and we’ll win this election.

I also believe that Sarah Palin is a shiny new object and the press is in love. Like everything with the press, that won’t last. Her bounce, I mean, McCain’s bounce will fade.

September 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

5 Comments »

  1. Dansac: I understand totally what you are writing, although I respectfully disagree with you here. My point in writing comments imploring the Obama Team to wake up and change their strategy is exactly that: I am PRAYING that somehow, somewhere, and in some fashion, that “we folks” here will get through to the inner workings of the minds of Plouffe/Burton/Axelrod and make them realize that they MUST change their campaign strategy–in many different ways.

    I have read that Senator Obama ACTUALLY DOES read “The Internet.” If indeed this statement is true, then I hope that Senator Obama and Company actually may come across comments such as these and see what “real” people are saying!!

    By the way, I have been canvassing and registering voters for many, many months now. So I’m not “just a bunch of talk!” And I think that there are many other people out there who are just like me–who also are not just talk, but who truly realize the true importance of the Ground Game come November 4th.

    As far as people like us hurting the Obama Campaign….I think that anybody who really believes this thinks too highly of us lowly bloggers–or has a false (and elevated) sense of our worth. I mean, SERIOUSLY, our comments are not the type of remarks that get Front Page Coverage on the National Inquirer–if you know what I mean!

    AS always, thanks for everything that you do here at Strategy 08. I really appreciate it.

    Comment by Midwesterners | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’m hoping the McCain-Palin bounce will fade too. There’s so much on the line for me personally, that I can’t even bear to stomach the idea of another four years of the same Bush policies under McCain-Palin. I’ve been canvassing on the weekends, but there’s only an extent to so much I can do.

    Is it too much to ask for consistent messaging?

    Comment by slinkerwink | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  3. McCain-Palin IS the bridge to nowhere! Palin just made her first gaft showing a fundamental misunderstanding about how this country’s biggest two biggest mortgage lenders do. She will mess up, big time. It’s just a matter of time.

    In other news, Obama will meet up with President Clinton on Thursday. I expect that he will pick up a couple things from the former president. If Clinton is one thing, he’s a masterful politician.

    Comment by Suzie Q (not the blogger) | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  4. I agree with your comment. Look, Obama ran a darn good campaign during the primaries. He clobbered his opponent left and right, and although we were disgruntled sometimes, he always showed us his pulse, his fortitude and his strategy. This was later in the primary, but do ya’ll remember when he lost WV and to counter the wide margin that Hillary won by, he blunted the effect by having a plane (documented by Marc Ambinder) leaving NC with Edwards in tow for an endorsement? Do you remember how effective that was in changing the conversation from her win to his major endorsement?

    I mean, this man that we support is brilliant, intelligent and a great politician. We are behind him because we feel that he is well capable of leading our country to prosperity in the future. We believe in him. He believes in us. He has some of the most brilliant people backing him up and and directing him to a victory. Do you not think that he has planned every little move that McCain can make in this GE with a counterpunch at just the right time? People, and I’m talk to all the chicken-littles out there that are worrying, get a grip, move those feet, move those lips and make a difference. Oh and give a little, if you can.

    Barack knows what he is doing and his targeting ads are good for the state-by-state electorate. You know that he has great ads ready to go up at anytime. Remember 3am…The next day rebuttle by Barack…

    You see, McCain is only short term…Barack is long term…He has been plotting this since last year….Just wait and see. He’ll do his part for us and we will do our part for him..

    As Whitley from ‘It’s a Different World’ would say: Relax, Relate, Release…

    Comment by 3O3 | September 8, 2008 | Reply

  5. As much as we might criticize Obama’s strategy now, its basically pointless, because with <60 days to go there simply isn’t time to change gears in a way that won’t look like flailing.

    There’s a point in any battle where you have to stop strategizing and you simply have to put your faith in “the plan”. At this point, it all comes down to execution.

    Obama is not running the kind of campaign I would run. But, (1) I’m not running for President, (2) Obama is and (3) I am not Obama and he is not me. A campaign has to be tailored to the strengths of a candidate and, win or lose, Obama has placed his bet on the campaign he is running.

    The only way we can help him now is by helping to make sure his bet pays off.

    Comment by Chris Andersen | September 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

