Strategy ’08

Obama vs. the other guy, 2008

If You’re So Concerned, Then Endorse Obama!

I’m getting a little tired of the likes of Chuck Hagel and Colin Powell, people who clearly want to endorse Obama and who will probably vote for Obama, but are too scared to put it on the line and put country first with an actual endorsement. Here are some quotes from Hagel yesterday slamming Sarah Palin:

“She doesn’t have any foreign policy credentials,” Hagel said in an interview. “You get a passport for the first time in your life last year? I mean, I don’t know what you can say. You can’t say anything.”

“I think they ought to be just honest about it and stop the nonsense about, ‘I look out my window and I see Russia and so therefore I know something about Russia,'” he said. “That kind of thing is insulting to the American people.”

“I think it’s a stretch to, in any way, to say that she’s got the experience to be president of the United States,” Hagel said.

Okay, so we know how you feel. And the quotes are nice. But how about taking the next step and…ENDORSING?! I share none of the worry that concern trolls have who say they don’t want the endorsements of the likes of Hagel and Powell. Well, then you don’t want to win either, because these endorsements would be huge, conversation-making news that would dominate the press coverage and narrative for a day or two. I’ll take that in a minute.

But I’m getting tired of the dance. Put your country first guys, we know whom you’re voting for.

September 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. YES! Endorse already!

    Comment by trellskig | September 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. October Surprise???

    Comment by 3O3 | September 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m flashing back to Gore in the primaries. It seemed like he probably favored Obama, but had his own reasons for not making it official. In the case of Powell or Hagel, it probably has something to do with their identification as Republicans. Also, I think Powell genuinely likes McCain and feels a kinship with him over their military backgrounds. Hagel, meanwhile, was an ardent McCain supporter back in ’00, even if they have gone their separate ways since then. Don’t underestimate the importance of personal relationships in these decisions.

    Oh, and one more point about Powell: The secret to his long-standing appeal has been his ability to be all things to all people. I just don’t think it’s in his nature to stake out controversial positions and take the heat for them. In fact, the one time he did that, in his speech to the UN, he got seriously burned.

    So yes, I know it’s frustrating, especially because it would be a thunderclap that could seriously reshape the race. But at this point, I’m not holding my breath. If it happens, great, but I suspect we’ll just have six more weeks of teasing.

    Comment by gdh1 | September 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

