Strategy ’08

Obama vs. the other guy, 2008

Rep. Neil Abercrombie is My New Hero

Rep. Neil Abercrombie on media chucklehead Cokie Roberts, who apparently wants Hawaii to secede from the Union.

“She’s a bit of a fool that’s the only thing you can say,” said Rep. Neil Abercrombie. ” Don’t forget Cokie Roberts and the whole Washington crowd live in a kind of an incestuous relationship to one another, they talk to one another, they see one another, they know nothing about ordinary people.”

Roberts owes an apology to the people of Hawaii, the Obama campaign, and all right-thinking people with an ounce of common sense. In the meantime, she deserves all the ridicule we and others can heap upon her.

August 13, 2008 - Posted by | Battleground States, Media Strategy | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. She deserves ridicule not just for this, but for countless other CW statements she’s made.

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: have you ever watched Cokie Roberts speak and found yourself surprised by an insightful piece of analysis that was new and interesting? Because I sure haven’t.

    Her statement on Hawaii perfectly summed up her dedication to the most banal, lowest-common denominator, inside-the-beltway type thinking.

    Comment by dansac | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. Why is it that it’s still OK to badmouth blue states? I still maintain that John Kerry could have won the election if, during the debates, he had responded to one of Bush’s smarmy attacks on Massachusetts by saying, “You may think of my state as a punchline, but it’s the cradle of American democracy. Furthermore, when I’m president, I’ll be the president of all 50 states, not just the ones that voted for me, and I will never disparage the good people of any state for political gain.”

    This notion that only the South or the Midwest counts as “real” America, that those are the only regions with “values”, is incredibly offensive. Talk about a media myth that needs purging!

    Comment by gdh1 | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. I like that gdh1. It’s about time our nominee stop playing defense on that type of thing.

    Comment by turneresq | August 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment